Parliament kept up the pressure on Wednesday for a comprehensive financial transaction tax in 11 EU countries with a wide scope and rates of 0.1% for trades in stocks and bonds and 0.01% for those in derivatives. Lower rates should apply until 1 January 2017 for trades in sovereign bonds and pension fund industry trades. Finally, a new legal ownership principle was inserted to make tax avoidance more costly.

The European Parliament has a consultative role on tax matters. It is now up to the 11 member states participating in the enhanced cooperation arrangement to reach a deal. The 11 participating member states are: Austria, Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Italy, Greece, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.

Press release


Informatiesoort: Nieuws

Rubriek: Europees belastingrecht


Gerelateerde artikelen